Who are NMSU Pioneers?

Pioneers are NMSU retirees or NMSU employees (and their spouses) who worked at NMSU at least 20 years. The NMSU Pioneers were founded in 1984 by NMSU President Emeritus Gerald Thomas and others. Pioneers capitalize on the experience of former employees and support the NMSU mission of "teaching, research, and service" by providing support to members, preservation of history, and help to promote quality education and excellence in teaching at NMSU.

NMSU Pioneer Book Scholarship

Since 1984, the NMSU Pioneers have focused on scholarships. In 1995, the NMSU Pioneers funded a current use account to provide two $250.00 book scholarships annually to students at NMSU. With dedicated board leadership, generous donors, and administrative support by the University Advancement office, the program has grown to support five $1,000 scholarships annually.

In recent years, the Board decided to honor NMSU Pioneers leadership who have recently passed away by awarding each scholarship in memory of a particular board member. This tradition continues and scholarship recipients have the opportunity to meet with the Board of Directors as well as the families of honored board members at the Pioneers luncheons and other special events.

Your gift to the Pioneer Book Scholarship could make an impact on NMSU students. The financial cost of books continues to be high and an award of $1,000 will be truly appreciated by each student. Donations to the scholarship assist students and assure they are able to carry their textbooks to class and take them home to study, without the need to share with a classmate.

Click here to put books into the hands of our NMSU Aggies now!

Your active Pioneer membership will renew with a gift to the Pioneer Book Scholarship or a gift at NMSU that you are passionate about.


 Stay Connected

Like us on Facebook! Follow Us on Twitter! View Us on YouTube! Follow Us on Instagram! 

     Mailing address:
     NMSU Foundation
     P.O. Box 3590
     Las Cruces, NM


© 2015 New Mexico State University

NMSU - All About Discovery!