James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service

Since 1966, the New Mexico State University Alumni Association has presented accomplished alumni with the honor of the James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service.

This award instills the tradition of excellence NMSU has upheld throughout the years, and each recipient is selected based on support to NMSU, involvement with NMSU, civic and humanitarian service, and professional service.

James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service nominees are provided through an open nomination process. Nomination packets are sent out to each college dean; NMSU Alumni Association International Board of Directors; University VIPs; and development officers.  In addition, a call for nominations is placed on the NMSU Alumni Association website at the beginning of each year and nominations are sought through electronic correspondence with alumni.

The NMSU Alumni Association Scholarship and Awards Committee, a committee of the NMSU Alumni Association Executive Council, selects the recipients according to their support of NMSU, involvement with the university and their civic and professional service, after attending NMSU. Nominations for this award remain active for three years following the date of nomination unless the nominee is selected for the award. The recipient must have attended NMSU or be an active member of the Alumni Association before the date of selection.  Alumni who are members of the NMSU faculty or staff are also eligible.

This award is presented during the annual Homecoming festivities at the Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner.  

Nominations for the 2018 James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service now closed as deadline was April 6, 2018.

2018 James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service Recipient

Dr. Patty Lopez, '80, '82, '89

For information on the 2018 James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service Recipient, click here

This award is presented at the Distinguished Alumni Dinner held during Homecoming week on Friday, October 5, 2018. Please register for this event here.

For a list of past James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service recipients, click here

© 2015 New Mexico State University

NMSU - All About Discovery!